A Different Way to Digest The News

blog pic

 

Most people get their news from TV, newspaper, twitter, or magazines. I’m not like most people. Ever since I was a kid I hated watching the news; there was always so much sadness in the world. For a while I actually avoided news entirely, but now I come to find media outlets that report the way I want it. The daily news outlets that I watch religiously throughout the day are YouTube blogs. I know it sounds immature, but here me out.

I follow two channels, which are SourceFed and PhillyD Show. SourceFed post news from all different genres in six, two minute long videos throughout the day. The PhillyD Show is an eight to nine minute video at the end of the day that recaps the news for the day.  These YouTube channels report sad news quick and factual. This helps me stay focused and not feel so sad after watching the stories. Both of the shows sometimes do the same stories, but they have different opinions on the topic.  When I see the story on both sides I feel that I won’t have tunnel vision on that certain issue. Every story these channels post about have many cited articles that I can follow up on.

Of course this shouldn’t be a person’s one-stop shop for the news. I check my CNN and New York Times apps every morning. Every afternoon, I usually read the cover stories in the New York Times. This helps me get even more info on issues that I am interested about. Though, I know soon I will most likely switch to more of a mature form of journalism because PR professionals need to know all the news, not just certain topics.  I feel because there are so many options out there to digest the news, no one should ever take it out of their daily schedule.

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Different Way to Digest The News

  1. I check YouTube in a regular schedule, too, although all I ever watched are some cosmetic or fashion channels, shame! I opened the link up here and I found that it’s really cool to use YouTube this way to absorb some news daily. Also the comments here are the important factor here; I bet this will make all the news unbiased and it’s fun! Thanks for this great advice! I wish we will all get a more mature sight toward the media at the end of the semester!

  2. I totally agree with you. The news does get depressing when you keep watching it. It seems like 3/4 of the program is telling us the disasters that happened that day. And I think it’s awesome that you watch SourceFed and PhillyD haha. I check Youtube for a lot of my news from time to time so I try to catch up on my PhillyD updates as much as I can.

  3. I really enjoyed this post. I totally get what you’re saying about the news being depressing, and I have my ways of getting around it as well if you read my blog. I like that you also use two different news sources to avoid tunnel vision and expand your horizons. I’ve never heard of either of those YouTube channels before and I’m pretty excited to check them out!

  4. I guess this is just more proof that I am old, but I had never heard of PhillyD. So I just watched the video with the headline about 1,300 Syrians being killed in a chemical attack. I’ll tell you while this isn’t in-depth like the New York Times and you’ve got to realize that PhillyD is sliding his opinion into the strict, factual news account, this is actually a great way to keep up with what’s going. WAY better than CNN’s Headline News, in my opinion.

    So I’m curious to hear from the class on this: Are you willing to spend 10 or 12 minutes a day watching something like this? If so, what makes you pay attention?

    Also, Rachel, keep this in mind: Consuming “mature” sources of news doesn’t mean you need to give up other stuff. In fact, paying attention to news aimed at younger generations or that is trying new formats gives you a much broader perspective than people who just read the NYT, and that’s important.

    Lori

Leave a Reply

