Snow and Newspapers Do Not Mix

Reading the news for me isn’t so much a time constraint problem as it is an attention span problem. Long gone are the days when I’ll suffer through reading something that doesn’t interest me or is written like a textbook. I suffered enough in my high school chemistry class. Let me have this one freedom.

That doesn’t mean I don’t read the news. On the contrary, I’d like to think I’m a pretty well informed person, though my downfall is I’m usually only well-informed about topics that I’m interested in. To become a better journalist, I definitely have to work on reading about events on a wide spectrum.

Ugh. Guess that means I have to start clicking on all those political tweets.

Or pay attention at family reunions.

But that’s the beauty of growing up in the technological age. I have all these resources at my finger tips–from twitter to

Above: perfect conditions for newspaper reading. Not shown: the 30 people I nailed with my paper as the wind whipped it around. Image found on http://www.stresstips.com/managing-the-stress-out-of-workplace-meetings/

family–to find out what’s going on in the world today. At the risk of this sounding like a geek-out-about-the-internet post, I’ll just stop at saying the internet is amazing and oh my God do I waste so much of my life on it. Everything from sites like Yahoo! to CNN are only a click away–it’s so useful.

But it’s just everywhere and it’s so convenient and useful  to read the news with. Why would I struggle with a newspaper in the oh so wonderful State College winter weather when I can whip out my phone and check Twitter or The Daily Collegian online and achieve the same thing? That’s not to say I don’t enjoy reading newspapers when I have free time, it’s just I’d much rather trip over a crack in the sidewalk than smack someone in the face with my wad of paper and ink.

And believe me, that’s happened more times than I’d like to admit, though whether I’m talking about the former or the latter I’ll leave up to interpretation.

3 thoughts on “Snow and Newspapers Do Not Mix

  1. Hi Caitlin — Can you be a little more specific about what you do pay attention to? We’ll talk about some ways to make politics a little less painful, but, yeah, you’re going to have to know what’s going on. I am curious about what you do like to keep up with. Lori

Leave a Reply

