Chelsea E’s Media Diet

Until beginning college, my typical response to anyone asking what my ‘favorite read’ is was simply that I do not read for pleasure. Until last year I would say this held true.

Since getting an iPhone, Twitter has been my best friend. I follow the Boston Globe and the Cape Cod Times for the sake of keeping up with the news at home, but you can also catch me retweeting the New York Times, the Washington Post, Huffington Post, NBC Nightly News, or the Associated Press on any given day. In terms of local news, I rely on following Onward State and the Daily Collegian.

But I am not just retweeting these news sources. I am now actually reading the news for pleasure thanks to Twitter. Though the 100+ characters initially sufficed for me, I have found that almost every major news story I have visited on a computer in the last six months has stemmed from my Twitter feed (which is in fact quite eclectic). While overseas in Italy, Twitter was the most immediate way I found out about the Boston Marathon bombings, which my closest friend was only a block away from.

BtownBombingTwitter

In terms of print, I really only read the Daily Collegian because it is free and the Cape Cod Times (free while under my parents’ roof). Not that there is anything wrong with this necessarily, but there is a certain sadness in the realization that I do not work to read the news. I let the news come to my literal finger tips, from the comfort of my bed or the boredom of my small desk in a lecture hall.

I am also currently reading Joe Posnanski’s Paterno to shed more light on the Sandusky scandal, so I do intend to improve my media diet in the future with more books of this nature.

3 thoughts on “Chelsea E’s Media Diet

  1. Hey Chelsea,

    It was a tender experience reading your post. Your writing flows gently that the water near Cape Cod would gladly contain:)

    Besides the beauty of your style, I was struck at the very first sight by your mention of “read for pleasure”. I could see your growth in knowing the purpose of news reading went reversely against most people. I could imagine a teen reading Vogue or Glamour magazine for past-times in the midst of some adolescent doldrums, but it seems hard for me to picture a teen reading the Boston Globe or the New Yorker at the same age. That is, one goes from pleasure reading to selective reading.

    And you also talked about using Twitter to be updated with the breaking news around you. The riveting point you made was the case of the Boston bombing, and your closest friend was so close to the nucleus of that event. I am interested to hear from you about what happened immediately after the event. Did your friend get into contact with you first or the other way around? I had the knowledge that a flock of people who were yet to converge into the final route was blocked by securities upon the knowledge of explosions. Did your friend know what had happened or she heard more of that from your anxious inquiries?

    There is a funny saying that in the media that sometimes media audience is closer in time to access news than a spectator closer In proximity. Far from a fabrication, this rule has been repetitively proved in breakouts of school shooting cases. From the Columbine High to Chardon High, from the Virginia Tech to Sandy Hook, people who were neighbors or in some extreme cases, direct witnesses to these scenes, were oftentimes the most disoriented one. They were affrighted and vulnerable, most of whom instantly gave away their last rampart of psychological defensives. On the other end of role-playing, the audience who were caught up by the breaking news updates were usually closer to the true touch of the event proceedings. But fairly speaking, we have all learned the capricious nature of breaking news. a minor misreport of event could well changes the course of interpretation from stakeholders to readers. Nonetheless, the probable inaccuracy of breaking news coverage is dwarfed by the comparative credibility of its rendering, and it should be viewed little compared to the timely exposure of consequential facts.

    I hope your will find my remarks relevant and applicable,and perhaps it’s high time for another round of reading now.

  2. Twitter has definitely increased my reading the past few years too. It’s crazy to think how we can get updates about events like the Boston Bombing from a person who is literally few feet away from the actual happening.

  3. Hi Chelsea — I found out about the bombing on Twitter, too — while I was attending a regional meeting of the Associated Press Sports Editors here on campus. Some of the students from last semester’s class and a club I advise were there, and they knew right away that something was going down. We were all half paying attention to an interesting presentation on longform stories while keeping up as quick as possible with the breaking news. We got to see the sports editors communicating with their office to plan the coverage; they were paying attention to social media, too.

    I’m curious about why you went from the 140 characters to the links. What made you click to go deeper? Are there specific characteristics to the tweets that make you click through?

    Lori

Leave a Reply

