Hunter’s Media Diet

My name is Hunter Maerz and I am a junior at Penn State University studying Broadcast Journalism. My morning ritual for attaining news starts with the television show, Sportscenter, which I put on while I get ready for the day, to get a quick recap of any and all sports news. Then, I have relatively early classes this semester, so while I am walking to class, I pick up a copy of the Daily Collegian. As soon as I get to the classroom, I sit down and look over the stories while I wait for class to begin. By doing this, I am able to catch up on all news relating to Penn State and the area. Then, once it becomes time for me to pull my laptop out, I have the New York Times website as my homepage so that right when I go on to the Internet, their news is the first thing I see. This strategy allows me to easily look through the top headlines of the day and if anything strikes my interest enough, I will click to view the whole story.

Now, going from class to class all day, with some time to eat and hit the gym, makes for a very busy day. So, I always check my Twitter feed on my cell phone throughout the entire day to catch any quick blurbs of news that may be happening in the world. I follow several news corporations such as CNN and Fox News, as well as a couple of sports analysts/agents, and a few public figureheads such as Bill Clinton and Oprah Winfrey. Following a variety of different people and corporations allows me to get a lot of different opinions and news stories that I might otherwise not see. I also read Rolling Stone magazine and Sports Illustrated magazine from time to time, depending on if there are featured stories that I am interested in reading about. I am not a big fan of the radio so I will admit that I do not listen to any talk shows or get any of my news using that platform. The last book I read was The Great Gatsby, which I was re-reading for the second time. It has become quite a favorite of mine. I love the HBO original series Game of Thrones too, and would love to start reading those novels as well. I mean, who wouldn’t want to read the books that led to a trailer like this?

This is me after almost getting swept away into the sea in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, last spring

This is me after almost getting swept away into the sea in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, last spring

In terms of my career, I would like to end up working in the entertainment world, whether it is music or film, because that is what I am most interested in and I would like to explore more into that field. Also, working for a sports magazine or a sports show would not be horrible either. I think of myself as pretty outgoing, so if I end up in one of those fields, I would like to have a job that involves communicating with other people or companies. I just want to make sure that if I am going to have a job, I want to be passionate about it and I want to work as hard as I possibly can to be the best at it.

4 thoughts on “Hunter’s Media Diet

  1. First of all, classic Hunter PV photo. I really enjoyed reading your post. Sportscenter is every guy’s typical go-to spot for sports recaps and whatever else, but it’s good to see that you’re also keeping up with the local and world news by reading the Collegian and watching CNN. Game of Thrones is definitely a must watch for me as well. I’ve never read the books but I’m sure they’re just as good, if not better, than the series. Best of luck with your career goals!

  2. Hi Hunter — I’ve asked this to some other people, but I’d like to hear your response, too. What makes you click on a headline? Is it the subject matter, the way the headline is written, how it is placed, something else?

    I re-read The Great Gatsby this summer, too; I hadn’t read it since college, and I wanted to have it fresh in my mind when I saw the movie. I loved the book more than ever, and I think I appreciated the writing more because I wasn’t writing a term paper about the American Dream. Did you see the movie? If so, what did you think?

    Also, Kristina, your comment made me smile. When I started dating my husband, I told him he hit the jackpot because I actually liked to watch SportsCenter …. pretty sure he agrees with that 🙂

    Lori

  3. @Kristina You’re definitely right about Sportscenter, although I heard that Fox network is coming out with their own sports network channel to try and compete with it. We shall see how that goes. Also, glad to see another GOT fan. Definitely one of the best shows on television.

    @Lori When it comes to a headline, I would say it definitely is all about the way the headline is written and the subject matter that makes me click on it. Obviously, first off, there must be some sort of subject matter that sparks my interest, such as a famous person or sports team that I care about. But, then it comes down to what the headline actually says and if it is something that I find might be important news. I also re-read The Great Gatsby for the same reason – to refresh my memory before the movie – and it turned out to be a good idea. I thought the movie was great, although it was pretty long, and Leonardo Dicaprio killed his role as usual. Definitely need to see it again once it is out on DVD!

  4. When we’re tweeting from events, Hunter, think about the headlines you find compelling and try to use that style as a guide for what and how to tweet. I bet you’ll find that useful.

    I thought DiCaprio was great, too. He really felt like Jay Gatsby to me. From the previews, I was thinking that Casey Mulligan was the perfect Daisy, and then I realized on the re-read that Daisy has brown hair. Why did I not remember that? And why have the movies (including the Robert Redford/Mia Farrow version, which is not good at all) made Daisy blond?

Leave a Reply

