Jordan’s Places To Get Information…..And Stuff

Was I ever interested in reading a newspaper?  No, not really.  I’d only take interest when I would see an interesting article about some of my favorite teams like the Phillies, Eagles, and Sixers, or maybe something about our local high school team.  My Dad always reads the local papers which are The Intelligencer Journal and The Lancaster New Era.  He used to leave articles he’d want me to read on the table and have a note with my name on it.

There are only a couple places I look for news today.  I follow CNN on Twitter as well as some of my favorite sports reporters and analysts like Ken Rosenthal and Jim Salisbury.  I check mlbtraderumors.com and csnphilly.com every day for my baseball and Philly sports news.

I also get really interested in news around the music world.  It’s mostly news about rappers and the feuds between them tPicture of the movie cover.hat I find on 105.1’s YouTube channel.  The interviews on there aren’t the best and they like to ask really stupid questions about the artists’ personal lives but some of the stuff is really good.  One of the hosts, Charlamagne Tha God, has no censor whatsoever.  He asks whatever question he wants and tells everyone exactly what he is thinking.  If he thinks you have no alent, he’ll tell you.  One instance he actually told one of the women from “Love and Hip-Hop Atlanta” that she had no talent.  It was great.

One thing that I feel that is anti-journalist of me is that I don’t really read books.  I just don’t.  It’s mostly because I don’t have the attention span to sit down and read a book.  My favorite book of all time is “Of Mice and Men” by John Steinbeck.  I’m not really sure why it’s my favorite.  I had to read it in 9th grade and I just really like the characters and it’s a real tear jerker when you mix it with the movie.

So that’s just a brief summary of my media diet.  I follow other Me co-hosting "After Hours" on PSN-TVnews sources other than CNN on Twitter such as The New York Times and NBC as well as Anderson Cooper’s account.  I recently have been reading up a little bit on Syria.  I like to stay in the loop of what’s going on.  It helps me be able to write jokes on the comedy show I’m on if I know what current events are happening.

7 thoughts on “Jordan’s Places To Get Information…..And Stuff

    • I don’t know too many local here or from my home town but as for Philadelphia, I’m a big fan of Jim Salisbury who is a beat writer for the Phillies. For the Eagles I follow Reuben Frank but I’m still not 100% on him however I do like Ray Didinger. For the Sixers, I follow John Gonzalez but he also covers the Phillies and the Eagles as well. The “go to” beat reporter for me when it comes to the Sixers is Dei Lynam. She knows her stuff. All of these people are contributors to csnphilly.com which I follow religiously.

  1. After reading your media diet I notice I definitely forgot to put something about my obsession with following news in the music world in there. I love looking for new music or just finding out stuff in the music industry. What kind of music do you follow/listen to?

  2. Hi Jordan — That’s a great story about your dad! My dad did something similar, and when I went to college, he’d save clippings and send them to me. That was in the olden days, before the Internet, and it was hard to find Pittsburgh newspapers in State College.

    I’m curious about the YouTube. I’m not a very visual person, so I tend not to watch videos, but I am always curious about when people watch them. Are you multitasking while you’re watching? And do you watch other videos, as well?

    Lori

    • I’m usually focused in on the videos when I watch them so it makes multitasking very difficult. I usually watch them when I get on my laptop to do homework…. I search for a lot of different videos when I’m on. When I’m looking for news on Hip-Hop, I type in the artist I’m looking for and watch the most recent videos that come up. After that, I follow all the related videos that interest me. I’ll be watching an interview with Macklemore one second and then the next second I’ll be watching an old performance by the Notorious B.I.G.

Leave a Reply

