News at my Fingertips

As a college student, I’m always looking for ways to make every one of my precious Penn State moments count. I like to think of myself as a technology savvy individual who could never be caught dead without some sort of electronic device. If a news source is connected to any sort of social media, there is an extremely high chance that I will at least skim through the story.

Before I even leave my bunk bed in the morning, I scroll through my Twitter, Facebook and Instagram feeds to find out the day’s top news and drama. I follow multiple accounts ranging from ESPN to the New York Times. The great thing about social networking is even if you personally don’t follow a site, other users are still able to spread the top breaking stories to your feed. The media sites also allow for easy, instant access to multiple events happening worldwide.

The Onward State and Daily Collegian’s websites typically tend to show up across my MacBook Pro screen in the middle of my classes. Hey, it’s pretty convenient to be able to get your daily Penn State update in the middle of a lecture. I also try to check EllwoodCity.org as often as I can to find out what’s going on in my little, old hometown. The site also holds a special place in my heart because I had my very first journalist job there this summer.

Despite my love for technology, I still pick up the occasional paper. I began each of my summer work days by reading my town’s local newspaper with a cup of iced coffee. The Ellwood City Ledger is considered my competition by most, but I believe it’s better to keep your friends close and your enemies closer.

crowd surfing

This is obviously one of the reasons why I would love to report on the college football sidelines.

Television is also a huge contribution to my daily media diet. The Today Show is actually what inspired me in my career path towards becoming a Broadcast Journalist. The Ellen and Oprah Shows are also my typical daytime tune-ins. Both of the amazing women help to inform viewers of news as well as help citizens in need. E! may however take the cake as my all-time favorite channel. My roommates and I are obsessed with finding out the Hollywood scoop; Miley Cyrus at the VMA’s, need I say more?

Although my future in the media industry is unclear, I definitely see myself in the entertainment section. I really don’t want to be stuck at a news desk reporting on deaths and rapes every day of my life. I would prefer to work with ESPN on the sidelines or red carpet work for E! I definitely have the ever so common journalist dream but if I never try, I’ll never know.

2 thoughts on “News at my Fingertips

  1. Every morning I also check social media outlets! It’s nice to be able to know if anything important, happy, sad, or serious has happened to someone close to you. Though, I feel relying on friends to post news info is not that great of an idea because most people are not unbiased or don’t fact check. Also, I agree with you about following your dreams. If you don’t have passion you can’t get anywhere in this life.

  2. HI Sarah — You make an interesting point about getting information from your friends, as well as official news stories. I think that’s one of the interesting things about Twitter … you can pick people to follow, and you learn what their perspectives and slants and interests are. I follow people solely because I know when they link something, it’s going to be interesting. I’ve read stuff I would never have read because someone I find interesting thinks it’s interesting. Has that happened to you?

    Also … keep in mind that you’re never going to get away from the less-fun news if you’re in this business. I traded myself to the city desk to cover night cops after Kobe Bryant was accused of rape … I realized that I needed to be able to report that, too, as well as what happened in games. Crimes happen in entertainment, too!

    Lori

Leave a Reply

