Reading is More Than Sports Updates, But They Seem to Rule My World

There is a part of me, somewhere buried deep down, where my 14 year old self is trying to get out and tell my current self to stop reading. “It’s stupid and a waste of time,” little me would say, and up until about two years ago, I would agree with these comments. I never saw the joy in reading as a kid. I would read a Sports Illustrated article every now and then, or a book that caught my attention, but I never could say I thoroughly enjoyed reading.

Now, I can’t say enough about how much I love to read. Over the summer, I discovered possibly my two favorite books of all time in The Five People You Meet in Heaven and Tuesdays With Morrie, two classic novels I must have read 3 times each. A good book can go a long way for me.

"The Philadelphia Phillies are 2008 world champions of baseball."

“The Philadelphia Phillies are 2008 world champions of baseball.”

On a more daily basis, there’s nothing I enjoy more than reading the  Inquirer’s sports section. Although I have to read it online at school, I make sure I take the time each day to read it “cover to cover”. I love being able to read not only Philadelphia sports news, but out of town scoreboards with a “Philly spin”.

Online articles have become somewhat of my forte, as I search the Internet daily to find the latest in sports updates, from the MLB to the NFL,  to all things college athletics.

I wouldn’t be anywhere in the world today without my Twitter. Funny, I used to be so against Twitter for so long. Now, not an hour goes by that I’m not checking and updating my feed. Twitter gives me the fastest and most up to date information when I need it, whether it be from my laptop in boring Stat class, or on my phone as a sit in the HUB and eat lunch. Now that the sport’s world is constantly changing, I need to stay on top of breaking stories dealing with injury, trade, retirement and more if I want Two Point Stance, my NFL talk show, to be successful.

Now, not a day goes by when I’m not reading, and I couldn’t imagine my life without it. Shame my 14 year old self wouldn’t approve.

9 thoughts on “Reading is More Than Sports Updates, But They Seem to Rule My World

  1. I don’t mean to be creepy, but I can’t help but comment that you remind me so much of my boyfriend! He plays baseball at Bloomsburg University and is literally obsessed with Philly sports…and sports in general. He is also an avid tweeter like you and runs an account with his friend called “Life of a Philly Fan.” Anyway, I’m glad you finally warmed up to the idea of reading! I love finding a book that you just can’t put down. I loved The Five People You Meet in Heaven too–I’ll have to check out Tuesdays With Morrie!

    • Hey, not creepy at all! I’m always glad to hear about other fans who are as passionate about Philly sports as I am. Also, if you did like Five People You Meet in Heaven, you’ll love Tuesdays with Morrie. Not going to lie to you, you might cry because it’s incredibly sad, but it’s so inspirational and just a great all around story.

  2. As a HUGE Phillies fan, I appreciate the caption you put under the photo of The Philadelphia Inquirer cover. I re-watch that Harry the K’;s call all the time. The best part of it is watching the video that caught Wheels dancing in celebration.

    • Thanks Jordan! I’m always catching myself watching the 2008 World Series DVD over and over and still getting chills every time they show Brett Myers’ AB against Sabathia, Matt Stairs’ HR off Broxton and the final out of game 5. Time to turn this team around in 2014.

  3. Love the fact that you mentioned Tuesdays with Morrie. I’m not a big reader when it comes to books but that is definitely one of my favorite books of all time. Who are some of your favorite baseball analysts? I’m big into baseball myself and always enjoy watching Baseball Tonight and other MLB segments

    • Awesome to hear somebody else that appreciates that book as much as I do. As for baseball analysts, I’m somewhat partial to the MLB network crew as opposed to ESPN just because, outside of Curt Schilling, not many of the analysts are former players who have that insight that only a player has. As for my favorite, I’d have to say I really enjoy Harold Reynolds. As a shortstop, he really knows the dynamics of the field better than any other analyst I’ve seen so far.

  4. Hi Tyler — I’m wondering why you were originally against Twitter and how long it took you to change your mind.

    I’m from Pittsburgh, but when I was in college here, I always bought (or scrounged around for) the Inquirer Sunday sports section to read Jayson Stark’s baseball notes. They were a thing of beauty, and always hilarious. He’s still great at ESPN, but I still miss that Sunday column. A work of art.

    Lori

    • To be honest with you, before I turned my attention to journalism, I never really saw the big appeal of Twitter. I was pretty happy with the way Facebook was treating me. Just like almost everything else I do, I’m incredibly stubborn to try out new things, (with the exception of food and adventure, which I always believe in the mantra, “I’ll always try anything once.”) Once I got hooked, however, I realized I couldn’t have been more wrong on my opinion. I miss being able to have the physical copy of the Inquirer because it really makes me feel at home. I remember when I was younger my dad and I would pick the NFL games each Sunday on the helmets matchup column. I thought it was the coolest thing, and from there I was hooked.

  5. Glad Twitter is working for you … and I love that you miss the physical newspaper. My favorite day of the week to read the news is Sunday because I get a hard-copy NYT. It’s just a different reading experience.

    Lori

Leave a Reply

