Don’t Burn The Candle at Both Ends

My Comm260w teacher urges her students to read and stay updated on what’s happening around us.

My CAS475 teacher often insists that the media is corrupt/biased and to stay as far away from it as I can.

Personally, I enjoy being in the loop, sorry to my CAS professor, so every morning after my wake-up routine is completed, I open my stickers-infested Mac Book to 7 previously opened tabs consisting of:

CNN, Yahoo, Twitter,  Facebook,  ESPN,  Sports Illustrated, and MSNBC. every day.

I want different perspectives when seeking information. (i.g. ESPN and SI ~  MSNBC and CNN)

Although I take much of the info with a grain of salt, these 7 tabs generally keep me refreshed with news across the globe.

Reading is not dreadful to me anymore, I’ve slowly realized there’s more positives than negatives.  The last book I finished was ‘How to Win Friends and Influence People’ by Dale Carnegie.  I’m big on personal development and Carnegie gives interesting tips and stories for just that if any of yinz are into that.

And when it comes to newspaper, I’m clearly reading the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, if the ‘yinz’ didn’t already give it away.  Except when I’m here in State College I read the Collegian.  Reading the paper daily is the goal though some days get missed for sure.

Let us be grateful to the mirror for revealing to us our appearance only.

Let us be grateful to the mirror for revealing to us our appearance only.

6 thoughts on “Don’t Burn The Candle at Both Ends

  1. I understand. I am the same way. The media is around us all the time, there is no way of leaving that behind. So, since it’s there I as an audience listen, read or talk about the newest upcoming news. Like I said in my blog I love celebrity gossip. So, you are not alone.

    • I agree with You, media is all around us! Einstein said he fears the day that technology will surpass our human interaction. and the way technology & media is growing, we’ll all be smart phones ourselves in a couple year.

  2. I want to begin by saying your picture made my roommates and I laugh for a solid five minutes! I love that you read the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette. Where are you from? The first time I said the word “yinz” in State College, everyone thought that I was crazy.

    • Finally another Burgher! (began to think I was alone). I’m from the Churchill area, went to Woodland Hills. how about You?
      ‘Yinz’ makes sense when you don’t want to sound country by saying ‘Y’all.’

  3. That is such a good idea to keep your sources of information open in tabs everyday, so you can just refresh the webpages for new stories and stay in the loop. The book you mentioned sounds interesting. I am intrigued by personal development as well so I may have to check it out. And lastly, love the picture! Pink is your color.

  4. Hi Chris — It sounds like your CAS475 teacher would get along with much of my family; they are convinced that the media is evil, biased, corrupt, etc. Unfortunately, they are not always wrong. That’s something that’s important for all of us to keep in mind: Don’t just dismiss criticism. Try to understand it first, and then, if you think about it and decide it’s unwarranted, you can dismiss it. But I bet much of the time you’ll learn something from the criticism.

    If you’re into self-improvement and productivity, you might like the website and Twitter feed 99U. A friend and colleague of mine — you’ll meet him in December, when he’ll be a guest speaker — let me know about the site, and I ended up downloading a book that really made me think about how and why I do things. I think I’m more efficient and creative when I follow the suggestions.

    Lori

Leave a Reply

