Giving Credit Where Credit is Due

plagiarism1

In my personal opinion, plagiarism is a pretty big deal. As we discussed in class, if I were a person who wrote something and I either heard or saw it being used by another without giving me any credit, I would be pretty angry.  However, I do agree with the Lakeland Plagiarism report when it says that most cases of Plagiarism are unintentional. Now, that is not to say that all incidents of plagiarism are unintentional because there are some cases that it is just blatant.

There was an interesting case of blatant plagiarism that I read about recently that happened at the University of North Carolina  in 2012. A football player at the school blatantly copied a report done by 11-year olds to fulfill a school requirement. He literally used all the wording from these kid’s reports and just changed some punctuation animagesd numbers and just added some words to make it seem like he didn’t just copy and paste the whole thing. After reading this article on Yahoo.com, I didn’t know whether to laugh, feel bad or just stare at the screen with a dumb look on my face.

Though this is one case of blatant plagiarism, there are many cases where journalists, writers, analysts, etc. use other people’s work as work of their own unintentionally. Do I think they are doing it on purpose? No. But, people need to be held accountable when they do plagiarize, intentional or not. I don’t understand why it is so hard for a person to not give a person credit for something they did? I don’t think a person would be considered dumb or anything of that sort if they gave person credit in a report, broadcast, etc.

Plagiarism is something that needs to be stopped and people need to be accounted for when they plagiarize. Whether they do it intentionally or not, they still do it. Those who take other people’s words must give credit where credit is due, it is not only rewarding for them, but it is rewarding for those whose work is being used.

One thought on “Giving Credit Where Credit is Due

  1. Completely agree when you stated how writers should be held accountable for their mistakes!
    And as a big college football fan myself, I’m disappointed I’ve never heard about the North Carolina incident. sounds like something a football player would do though haha
    Have you ever heard of a man named Jayson Blair? Blair wrote for the New York Times before being fired for fabricating and plagiarizing stories. He’s a classic example of plagiarism gone wrong. check it out.

    Nice post!
    Chris

Leave a Reply

