Recreating the Journalism Industry

dean baquetSince the moment I decided to become a journalist, my family has been adamant with trying to change my major. My mom, along with the majority of society, believes all of the typical “journalism is a dying field” clichés. I feel like I’m constantly being suffocated by the fact that I might not have a job after I graduate from Penn State. But after attending the Foster-Foremann Conference this past week, Dean Baquet was able to help me realize that journalism is and will continue to evolve.

Baquet brought with him from New York a positive outlook on how technology has revolutionized the newspaper industry. It has helped The New York Times to reach a larger audience, produce stories more quickly and add an innovational aspect to articles including photos, videos and graphics. The shift to the Internet has made me understand that if I’m going to be a successful journalist, I need to be more than just a writer.

“Become proficient with all aspects of multimedia, become proficient at what it takes to become a reporter and learn what it takes to make news judgement,” Baquet told the room of aspiring journalists.  I never comprehended before the Conference that to get hired with a powerhouse company in the news industry, you must be comfortable on screen, behind the camera, on social networks and basically anywhere else your editor wants to send you.

Right now, I feel very confident that I’m learning how to properly report on paper and on camera. I just don’t think that I’m currently learning enough regarding the new technology aspect of journalism. Baquet made me highly consider taking some kind of class that will help to shape my photography and videography skills. I think having a background in both will really help to improve my chance of employment in the growing world of technology.

Years ago, journalists did not have to deal with any of the problems that we have to now. But being able to be more diverse than just having a paper and pencil will make our jobs that much more rewarding. Baquet said it best with the quote, ” You get to recreate a great profession that deserves to thrive.” Technology is changing the journalism world as we know it but it will only help it continue to grow. I don’t want to rush college but I can’t wait to see what the future has in store for us all.

3 thoughts on “Recreating the Journalism Industry

  1. Hi Sarah — I feel your pain. My parents spent my four years of college trying to get me to at least minor in business because they thought I would never find a job as a journalist. It took me almost nine months to find a full-time job, but I finally got one. They later acknowledged that I knew what I was doing 🙂

    Definitely take photojournalism and/or multimedia. And we’ll keep playing around with forms of reporting that don’t involve writing words as the semester goes on.

    Lori

  2. Hi Sarah! Your first paragraph literally describes my life. My mom was the same way, she kept trying to make me switch majors to business or something that isn’t a “dying field”. I’m glad I decided not to switch, especially after Dean Baquet Conference. I 100% agree with you, it really did make me realize that the journalism field will evolve and although there will be some changes from what it used to be, it definitely is not dying. Technology will change the world of journalism, and it could definitely help the field grow.

  3. Hi Sarah,

    First off, great blog! I as well can totally relate to your first paragraph. Though everyone is very supportive about my decision to major in broadcast journalism, you can still feel a sense of worry in their tone as they say it. I think it’s awesome that Baquet seemed to put a lot of doubts that we may have about journalism to rest and that the future is bright!

Leave a Reply

