The Happy Future of Journalism

Image

 

I am very glad that I was able to listen to Dean Baquet, who is the managing editor of The New York Times, speak at the Foster-Foreman Conference.  When our COMM 260 class got there I was really worried that I was going to have to hear a depressing speech about the sad future of the journalism industry.  Instead, Baquet has changed my mind about that.

 His speech gave me hope for not only the journalism industry, but also all other types of industries in America. If everyone listened to Baquet they will be given hope! The main point of his speech was to show the journalism students, who were present at the conference, how many opportunities are given to them.

When he got to the stage, Baquet talked to everyone with such enthusiasm! He actually said, “I’m envious of your age.” This made me realize how lucky my generation is to have such technological advancements.  I now feel bad for reporters before the Internet; they must have spent hours in the library searching for background information.

Baquet not only made the students at the conference proud of their generation, he also gave them tips on how to preserve the craft of story telling. His five tips were: take the job that will help you listen and report; learn history; understand the difference between building a career and honing a craft; read, read, read and never stop reading; and finally don’t get so caught up with your ambitions and aspirations that you miss experience.

I feel my opinion of the journalism industry has changed for the better from listening to this great man speak. He showed me that the journalism industry is not just full of people that think timeliness is more important than if it’s correct. This industry is actually full of men and women who would like to preserve the craft of story telling.  I find this to be beautiful because in this fast paced world there are still people out there that understand the real meaning of being able to write well.

Thank you Lori for taking us to see Baquet! Now I have a question for my fellow classmates, did you agree or disagree with his company’s policy with withholding information from the public because the government asked them to?  I agree on the fact that it will protect people, but what if it is extremely important person that public needs to know about?

 

Picture from: http://www.mediabistro.com/fishbowlny/keller-gets-his-man-fired-lat-editor-dean-baquet-joins-nyt-as-d-c-bureau-chief_b4274

4 thoughts on “The Happy Future of Journalism

  1. Hi Rachel! I’d like to share with you some of my opinions.
    In China, the government has all the excuses said that hiding major information to the public is protecting our citizens. When I hear this kind of words and saying, I wondered: protect the public from what? The thrilling, dreadful truth? In my point of view, every single person deserves know the truth no matter it looks decent or ugly. And that’s what we learn to do: to inform, to seek the truth for them. It’s the basic rights for everybody. The government does not decide whether the public should or should not be protected. So, basically I disagree with the policy.
    What do you think about it?

  2. Hi Rachel — As an old person, I will answer your question about the pre-Google, pre-Internet years 🙂 It was hell!

    OK, kidding. But it did involve a lot of time in creepy dark rooms where there were files and folders and envelopes of clippings — literally, yellowed stories cut out of the newspaper. It’s no wonder that such a library of clippings was called “the morgue.”

    One good thing about the olden days was that you’d find the unexpected more easily. Google’s algorithms mean that we all see the same thing unless you click through a few pages. Sometimes, easier means a little less creativity and more surface reporting.

    That’s my opinion and memories. Wondering what the rest of you think.

    Lori

  3. Hi Rachel,
    I am with you on the same page with my mindset going into the conference. It really took me back with the optimism that Baquet really seemed to deliver. His whole advice on living the experience of the career and his story of him missing work to drive his son across the country really gave me inspiration and relief in the future of my career. And personally, I don’t agree with the the company not revealing information because of the government. I do think the public should be informed as much as possible on what is going on. In case of a crisis, I feel it is important for people to be educated as possible to know what is going on and how to handle certain situations.

  4. Hi Rachel,

    Even though I wasn;t able to attend the conference, I definitely have had the same thoughts as you about the journalism industry. It really seems that Dean Baquet squashed all those worries and really brought a sense of not only relief but confidence in the future of the journalism industry. From what everyone has said about it, I really wish I was able to attend because it seems that Baquet really cares about the future of the journalism industry and wants it to thrive.

Leave a Reply

