Tweet like you are roaring

I’m green in Twitter. Before I downloaded the app on my phone for this class, I simpl2y categorized it as one of those social network sites.  Personally, I don’t have the enthusiasm for SNS even in China, using my own language. But somehow after using it I have some really good observations of it. I started to see it professionally and it inspired me to explore the “Twitter” in China.

I used to believe in the “SNS ruined real communications between people” cliché, plus I’m not into life sharing on SNS and the fact that those will be widespread by SNS scared me. While these features nailed the job if we see them professionally. In Weibo, which is basically the Chinese Twitter, I see this column called “Hot” appeared high on the page. (So bad at describing this kind of things) I think the “Hot” page is fairly similar to the “Discover“ page in Twitter. I found it really convenient because one can both find the news fast and jump into the discussion with some peers quickly. It’s much easier to discover and discuss an issue this way, so Twitter (or Weibo) really connects people.

Besides easy and quick accessibility to news, timeliness is another great side of Twitter and we benefit more from this in China. China has strict controls over the press and sometimes the government just blocks news from the public. That’s not happening if Weibo steal the time of blocking. Usually when news happened; there are witnesses and they write on Weibo immediately. Once they published, there is no way to stop them form spreading. (Images of Smoke Above Tiananmen Deleted From Chinese Social Network)

I always hold an optimistic opinion toward nowadays’ journalism. Seeing people talking and discussing daily news really inspired me. That informs me, as a future journalist, that people do care and want to make a sound on issues. For Chinese, this hope can be enormous because this is a sign that the Chinese are “awake” now and they began to fight for their voice; Weibo is the first step.

2 thoughts on “Tweet like you are roaring

  1. Hey Viola,

    I am inspired by your post regarding your opinion on SNS in China.

    While I was spending my earlier years in China before coming to America, I upheld the opinion that SNS are products for the voguish. A traditional learner to knowledge who liked reading print material, I was resigned from engaging in this community.

    However, it started to change when I arrived here. With the Internet access finally cleared from government deliberate logjam, I have enjoyed full access to every snippet of information that a global citizen cares to know. I still recalled your surprise when I updated you on the Tiananmen Square Attack. I read the news on the Washington Post and the NYT almost immediately after the incident, but I was short of delving into the subject more. I have friends in Beijing, so I could have contacted them about this incident, inquiring about their opinions and extrapolations on this occurrence.

    There are just so many opportunities hidden behind the SNS, and I am glad we are on the same avenue in pursuing it.

    • Hey Harry!
      First of all, thanks for the resource of the Tiananmen Square incident. It actually inspired me of this blog post. I myself was telling friends around me about the issue and some of them had already heard it from Weibo.
      What I’m glad about SNS is that it shows me that more and more people started to care about the community around them, including Chinese. That makes me think that the major I’m studying so hard right now may help my country in the future.
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

