Coming from a Twitter amateur

twitter-amateur

Regrettably, I still haven’t gotten “into” Twitter, nor do I fully understand it. But maybe that’s because I’m not trying hard enough. Or maybe it’s because I’m more of a visual person. Pictures are what grab my attention, which is why I am quite the Instagram guru. The statement “pictures are worth a thousand words” cannot be truer. Perhaps I should be a photojournalist instead!

Don’t get me wrong; I like words. I just like the fact that when I scroll through my Instagram feed, there is a large photo first and then a caption underneath—which can be as long as you want it to be, by the way. But on Twitter, there are some abbreviated words and then a link that goes to a picture or an article or something that takes way too long to load on your phone. Although (if I am correct) pictures are now automatically shown? I’m probably sounding like a Twitter amateur, which I am.

When Twitter first came out, I really did not understand its purpose. To put it bluntly, I thought it was stupid. What’s the difference between a Facebook status and a tweet? And how boring would a social media site be with only Facebook statuses? I thought that Twitter would surely not gain popularity, but I have been proven wrong.

Even though I am not an active Twitter user, I do see the value in it. It simply is an effective means of communication. It provides fast and concise information. Eyewitnesses of events can be their own reporters. It links nations. Celebrities can interact with their fans. It’s a source of entertainment. It also gets people in trouble A LOT.

Am I becoming too wordy?

I see Mallary Tenore’s point where Twitter has forced her to be become a more “succinct” writer. I suppose I could use some Twitter treatment as well because I tend to include unnecessary adjectives or additions to my sentences that muddy what I am trying to say. From the Twitter exercises done in class, it was frustrating having a limited character amount. I felt as if it was limiting my creativity and expression. But it did force me to shave off the unnecessary parts of my tweets and only include the most important information. In the end, my tweets were more concise, which is important in today’s busy society.

Tenore also made an interesting point that she is able to gain confidence as a writer through Twitter. On Twitter, it is very clear if the public likes your work. If they do, they will retweet your articles or leave positive comments. It is a means of validating your work and measuring your success. It also tells you if you need to change or to continue with what you are doing.

I realize that there are many benefits to Twitter, so I will keep trying to become an active user!

2 thoughts on “Coming from a Twitter amateur

  1. Hi!
    I’m excited to know that there is a “visual person” like me in our class! I also am on the path of exploring Twitter and it’s not that easy.
    I agreed that Twitter may gain confidence for writers sometimes. Twitter, when used as journalism tool, it really involves communications. When people liked your feeds and they comment you, it’s a good thing to know that you are being noticed and respected. What I liked about it is that Twitter can get the feedback really fast so it really suits the idea of timeliness.
    I hope that we can both learn more from Twitter by the end of the semester. Good luck!

  2. Wow I couldn’t agree with you more on when Twitter first came out… I also thought what’s the difference between Facebook and twitter and why do I need ANOTHER social media site? My thoughts exactly…. I was like, this will be another fad. But nope, it looks like it is leading us into the new way of life and will be around, improving and growing as we do, too. Twitter is definitely a different kind of social media, benefitting journalists and business people alike.

Leave a Reply

